A 1960s office building on the Boise Bench with a unique look could soon disappear.
The Clint-Graham Center at 1365 N. Orchard popped up in 1969, shortly after the Western Idaho Fair moved from the site to its current location on Chinden Blvd. The 24,000 square foot building includes two stories and a full daylight basement. The building’s entrance along Orchard features a split-level, much like you might find in homes built during the same era.
The property’s owner, Orchard Partners, asked for a permit to tear the building down. No plan for the future of the property is currently filed with the City of Boise, and a request for comment sent earlier this week went unreturned.
The building’s long-time anchor tenant, the Idaho Outfitters and Guides Licensing Board, recently moved to the State of Idaho’s new Chinden Campus. The state started consolidating many agencies from leased space around Boise to the former HP site. The licensing board called the Clint-Graham Center home for more than 30 years.
The demolition would not be subject to a proposed new ordinance in Boise requiring design review for some projects. That ordinance still needs final approval.
Orchard Partners owns several buildings in the area, including the Syringa building next door. That building will soon see an expansion after 20 years in the works.