Member Login

One half pacific and the other mountain: Inside Idaho’s two time zones


Daylight saving is coming to an end on Sunday, and that means it’s time to set your clocks back one hour. But did you know that Idaho is unique for its two different time zones?

There are 37 different time zones in the world – with six of them (seven during daylight saving time) covering the US.

Idaho is one of just 13 states that is split into two different time zones. In our case, mountain and pacific.

While there are several time zone change indicators across the state, the Time Zone Bridge on the Salmon River in Riggins is the most well-known. On the Riggins side, you’ll be on Mountain Time and once you cross, you’ll be on Pacific.

Time Zone Bridge in Riggins, Idaho. Photo courtesy: Idaho Transportation Department.

The majority of Idaho south of the salmon river follows the Mountain Time Zone, whereas the northern part of the state north of the Salmon is in the Pacific Time Zone – making up only 25% of the state and 10 counties.

In 2020, several state bills were introduced to change daylight saving time in Idaho. Some intended to legalize daylight saving time as the year-round clock, while others tried to align the time with bordering counties or states.

Idaho isn’t the only state with these two time zones. Oregon is also split between Mountain and Pacific time zones, with almost all of the state being on Pacific time, and only a small area of the east-central border of the state following Mountain Time. 

Regardless of the time zone you’re in, Daylight Savings ends at 2 a.m. on Sunday in Idaho.

Anna Daly - BoiseDev Reporter
Anna Daly - BoiseDev Reporter
Anna Daly is a reporter for BoiseDev. She's an Emmy-winning journalist, and a professor at the College of Western Idaho. Contact her at [email protected].

Start your day with all the local info you need.

Unsubscribe any time
Related stories