Member Login

Trailhead’s Rastegar to replace the late Kloc on auditorium district board

The Greater Boise Auditorium District chose Tiam Rastegar to fill the seat of Hy Kloc, who died late last year.

Rastegar is also the chief executive officer of Boise startup hub Trailhead. He will serve on the board through May of this year, when Kloc’s term was to have expired.

Kloc served on the GBAD board for eleven years before his death at the age of 75 in early December. Kloc suffered a heart attack, according to the Boise State Public Radio. He was also a former member of the Idaho House of Representatives and was born to Holocaust survivors in a displaced persons camp in Germany. He eventually made his way to Idaho for a job with Boise State Public Radio.

His death left an opening on the five-member panel of elected officials who oversee the auditorium district, which operates the Boise Centre on the Grove and will own the forthcoming Greater Boise Aquatic Center. The district is funded by a tax on hotel room stays within its boundaries.

Rastegar is a Centennial High School and Boise State graduate who has worked for companies including Vacasa and PKG Interface Solutions. He joined Trailhead as executive director in 2018 and was promoted to CEO last fall. He is also co-chair of Boise Entrepreneur Week.

Rastegar’s new seat on the GBAD board will be up for election this May. He could choose to run for the seat to serve a full six-year term this spring.

Rastegar appeared earlier this month on the BoiseDev podcast for a deep dive conversation into his background, which took him from Iran, to Germany, to Idaho. He also talked about the growing Boise entrepreneur scene and more. You can listen below, by searching BoiseDev on Apple, Google Play, Spotify or Listen Boise, or by clicking here.

Correction: GBAD is a five-member board, not seven, and terms are six years, not four.

More to read

Don Day - BoiseDev Editor & Founder
Don Day - BoiseDev Editor & Founder
Don is the founder and publisher of BoiseDev. He is a National Edward R. Murrow Award winner and a Stanford University John S. Knight Fellow. Contact him at [email protected].

Top Recent Stories